23rd Annie Awards (1996)

Nominees & Winners

Production Categories

1. Best Animated Feature
“Pocahontas” Walt Disney Feature Animation

“A Goofy Movie” Walt Disney Television Animation

“The Swan Princess” Rich Entertainment

2. Best Animated Video Production
“Gates of the Mind’s Eye” Miramar

“Opera Imagineria” Miramar

“The Land Before Time, Part II” Universal Cartoon Studios

“Macross Plus, Volume One” Big West, Macross Plus Project, Hero Co., Ltd.

“Macross Plus, Volume Two” Big West, Macross Plus Project, Hero Co., Ltd.

3. Best Animated Interactive Production
“Cadillacs and Dinosaurs” Duck Soup Productions

“Crayon Factory” Sidewalk Studio, a division of Philips Media, Inc.

“Full Throttle” LucasArts Entertainment Co.

“The Adventures of Hyperman” IBM Illumina Productions, Inc. and Bull Dolphin, Inc., MGM Animation

“KIA Interactive” Digital Evolution

4. Best Animated Promotional Production
“John Dough” Citibank, Optimus, Inc.

“Wile E. Coyote – Helicopter” Eveready Batteries, Warner Bros. Animation

“Canary Boom” Felix the Cat, Film Roman

“Chicago Blues” Shell Oil, R/Greenberg Associates

“Unforgettable Classics” The Simpsons, Film Roman, Fox

5. Best Animated Short Subject
“Dexter’s Laboratory” Hanna-Barbera

“Driving Mr. Pink” MGM Animation

“George and Junior’s Christmas Spectacular!” Hanna-Barbera

“Interview with Tallulah, Queen of the Universe” Queen of the Universe Productions

“Johnny Bravo” Hanna-Barbera

6. Best Animated Television Program
“Batman: the Animated Series” Warner Bros. Animation

“Steven Spielberg Presents Animaniacs” Warner Bros. Animation

“The Maxx” MTV Animation, Rough Draft Studios

“The Simpsons" Gracie Films, Film Roman

“The Tick” Sunbow Productions, Graz Entertainment

Achievement Categories

7. Best Individual Achievement for Creative Supervision in the Field of Animation
Ben Edlund, Co-Producer, The Tick

John Eng, Director, Duckman

Al Jean, Mike Reisee, Executive Producers, The Critic

Frank Paur, Greg Weisman, Producers, Gargoyles

Greg Vanzo, Supervising Director, The Maxx

8. Best Individual Achievement for Production Design in the Field of Animation
Rasoul Azadani, Layout Artistic Supervisor, Pocahontas

Michael Giaimo, Art Director, Pocahontas

Adrian Penn, Art Director, Weiss Energy Hall: The Origin of Energy

Kazuyoshi Takeuchi,Production Designer, Gargoyles

Fred Warter, Production Designer, A Goofy Movie

9. Best Individual Achievement for Storyboarding in the Field of Animation
Warwick Gilbert, Storyboard Artist, Disney’s Aladdin: The Lost Ones

Denise Koyama, Storyboard Artist, Disney’s Aladdin: The Secret of Dagger Rock

Brian Pimental, Story Supervisor, A Goofy Movie

Genndy Tartakovsky, Storyboard Artist, Dexter’s Laboratory

Kazuo Terada, Storyboard Artist, Gargoyles: Reawakening

10. Voice Acting in the Field of Animation
Jeff Bennett as the voice of Johnny Bravo, “Johnny Bravo”

Nancy Cartwright as the voice of Bart Simpson, “The Simpsons”

Jim Cummings as the voice of Mr Bumpy, “Bump in the Night”

Tress MacNeille as the voice of Dot Warner, “Animaniacs”

Rob Paulsen as the voice of Yakko Warner, “Animaniacs”

11. Best Individual Achievement for Music in the Field of Animation
Phillip Appleby, Composer, Theodore Geisel (Dr. Seuss) Lyricist

Dr. Seuss’ Daisy may Mayzie

Partick DeRemer, Roy Freeland, Songwriters

“121” and “Stand Out” A Goofy Movie

Alan Menken, Composer, Stephen Schwartz, Lyricist – Pocahontas

Richard Stone, Supervising Composer – Animaniacs

Shirley Walker, Supervising Composer – Batman: the Animated Series

12. Best Individual Achievement for Animation
Chris Buck, Supervising Animator, “Grandmother Willow” – Pocahontas

Dominique Monfrey, Animation Supervisor – A Goofy Movie

David Pruiksma, Supervising Animator, “Flit” – Pocahontas

Nik Ranieri, Supervising Animator, “Meeko” – Pocahontas

Cynthia Wells, Animator – Interview with Tallulah, Wueen of the Universe

13. Best Individual Achievement for Writing in the Field of Animation
Ben Edlund, Richard Liebmann-Smith, The Tick “The Tick vs. Arthur’s Band Account”

Peter Gaffney, Paul Germain, Jon Greenberg, Rachael Lipman, The Rugrats: A Rugrats Passover

Doug Langdale, Disney’s Aladdin: Do the Rat Thing

Michael Reaves, Gargoyles: Deadly Forcce

John Semper, Spider-Man: Day of the Chameleon

Juried Award Categories

Winsor McCay Award
Jules Engel

Vance Gerry

Dan McLaughlin

June Foray Award
June Foray

Certificate of Merit
King Features

Sarah Baisley

Dave Brain

Gary Lah

Amanda Haas

Ginny Swift